Home   |   Alfa Insurance   |   Alfa Health   |   Alfa Dental   |   Alfa Realty   |   County Federations    
ALFA Farmers
-> Cultivator
-> Capitol Connection
-> Neighbors
-> Friends & Family
-> Ag Law Book
-> Coloring Book

Publications - The Cultivator
Current Issue
Archived Issues
December 12, 2011   Email to Friend  Download PDF of this Issue

Farmers Federation members Elect New Officers, Board Members

Steve Dunn of Conecuh County, Jake Harper of Wilcox County and Dean Wysner of Randolph County each retained their positions as officers with the Alabama Farmers Federation during elections at the organization's 90th annual meeting in Mobile, Dec. 4-6.

President Jerry Newby, a Limestone County row crop and cattle farmer who was elected to his seventh straight two-year term in 2010, presided over the election process in which almost 500 voting delegates elected new officers and board members. All officer positions are for two-year terms. Newby, 64, announced he would not seek re-election at the end of his term in December 2012.

Dunn, a row crop and cattle farmer, was re-elected as secretary-treasurer of the 400,000-plus member organization.

Harper, a cattle and timber farmer, was unopposed in his two-year term as vice president of the Southwest Area, a region that includes Baldwin, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Hale, Lowndes, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox counties.

Wysner, a Randolph County cattle and hay producer, retained his post as vice president of the Central Area, which includes Autauga, Bibb, Calhoun, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Fayette, Greene, Jefferson, Lamar, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tuscaloosa and Walker counties.

Elections were also held for four district board positions, which are three-year terms.

Waymon Buttram of DeKalb County won the District 3 board seat. That district includes Cherokee, DeKalb, Etowah and Jackson counties.

Dell Hill of Talladega County was elected to represent District 6. That district includes Calhoun, Clay, Cleburne, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair and Talladega counties.

Garry Henry of Montgomery County was re-elected to the District 9 seat, which includes Autauga, Butler, Chilton, Lowndes, Montgomery and Wilcox counties.

S. Steve Dunn of Geneva County was elected to serve as the District 12 board member. That district includes Dale, Geneva, Henry and Houston counties.

Elected to one-year, ex-officio terms on the state board were Women's Leadership Committee Chairman Rita Garrett of Cherokee County and State Young Farmers Chairman John Bitto of Baldwin County.

Federation's Walker Named Director of National Legislative Programs

Mitt Walker

Mitt Walker, former director of the Catfish and Meat Goat and Sheep Divisions, was recently named the National Legislative Programs director within the Governmental and Agricultural Programs Department of the Alabama Farmers Federation.

In his new role, Walker will monitor federal legislation, regulations and issues for members relevant to policies approved by the voting delegate body. He will also serve as a liaison between the Federation's members, Congress, federal agencies and national agricultural groups.

Walker, a native of Clarke County, joined the Federation staff in June 2005. Since that time, his duties have expanded to include the monitoring of environmental and regulatory issues relating to the Clean Water Act. He also served as co-director of the Agricultural Leaders for Alabama (A.L.F.A.) program.

Prior to joining the Federation, Walker was an environmental scientist for the Alabama Department of Environmental Management.

A graduate of Troy University with a bachelor's degree in environmental analysis and management, Walker lives in Montgomery with his wife, Brandi, and their children: Olivia (11), Addi Leigh (5), and Ford (4).

Winners Named in Young Farmers Competitions

Jeremy and Lindsey Brown of Montgomery County were named Alabama's Outstanding Young Farm Family (OYFF) during the Alabama Farmers Federation's 90th annual meeting in Mobile, Dec. 6. The Browns, who are poultry farmers, were selected to compete for the award earlier this year after being named the Outstanding Young Farm Family division winners in their commodity. They have two daughters: Ansley, 2, and Lydia Grace, 2 months.

The OYFF program, now in its 54th year, seeks to recognize young farm families and farmers between the ages of 18 and 35 who are doing an outstanding job in their farm, home and community activities and promote a better understanding of agriculture with the urban populace.

As this year's winner, the Browns will participate in many activities promoting Alabama agriculture during 2012. They will also receive a John Deere Gator courtesy of Alabama Ag Credit and Alabama Farm Credit; a personal computer package courtesy of Valcom/CCS Wireless; a lease of a John Deere tractor courtesy of Tri-Green, SunSouth and Snead Ag; the use of a new Chevrolet Traverse from the Alabama Farmers Federation; and an expense-paid trip to the 2012 American Farm Bureau (AFBF) Annual Meeting in January, where they will compete for the American Farm Bureau Young Farmer and Rancher Achievement Award.

Other winners chosen in Young Farmers competitions to represent Alabama at the AFBF annual meeting were Excellence in Agriculture Award winner Jena Perry of Choctaw County, who received $250 from the Alabama Farmers Federation and $500 from First South Farm Credit, and Discussion Meet winner Stan Usery of Limestone County, who received $500 from the Alabama Farmers Federation and $500 from First South Farm Credit.

Kirk Smith of Blount County was the second-place winner of the Discussion Meet and received $250, while third and fourth-place finishers Tyler Dunn of Dale County and Colin Wilson of Jackson County each received $150. Prizes for these winners were courtesy of the Alabama Farmers Federation and First South Farm Credit.

The Young Farmers program provides opportunities for young farm families to become involved in the organization and offers leadership training and experience to expand the varied interests of young Alabamians.

  Email to Friend Download PDF of this Issue

e-News Sign Up | Site Map | Weather | Contact us RSS logo RSS Feed Twitter logo Follow us Facebook logo Become a Fan
© Copyright 2003 - 2010 Alabama Farmers Federation.
All Rights Reserved.