Home   |   Alfa Insurance   |   Alfa Health   |   Alfa Dental   |   Alfa Realty   |   County Federations    
ALFA Farmers
-> Headlines
-> Video News
-> Country Kitchen
-> Photo Galleries
-> Events


More Headlines...
February 06, 2003   Email to Friend 

Jeff Helms
(334) 613-4212
February 06, 2003

Alfa Farmers President Jerry Newby presented plaques to outgoing state commodity committee members for their years of service. Pictured with Newby are, from left, (TOP) Eloise Rosser of Jefferson County, Butch Frye of Marion County, and Dean Wysner of Randolph County, Beef Division; (MIDDLE) David Pearce of Dallas County with Catfish Division Director Jimmy Carlisle; and (BOTTOM) Jerry Byrd of Dale County with Wheat and Feed Grains Division Director Buddy Adamson.
MONTGOMERY, Ala. - About 700 farmers representing 15 agricultural commodities, were in Montgomery Feb. 3-5 for the Alabama Farmers Federation's Commodity Organizational Conference.

During the organizational meetings, county commodity representatives from throughout Alabama elected state committee members, explored promotion and education opportunities and set priorities for the coming year. The farmers also received updates from state and regional experts on a variety of topics including marketing, research and governmental affairs.

The farmers elected to state commodity committees this week will be charged with directing the operations of their respective commodity division for the coming year. They will help determine what research to support, how best to promote their products and will direct lobbying efforts at the state and national levels. In some cases, these committees also oversee the distribution of producer-supported checkoff funds.

During the meetings, outgoing state commodity committee members were honored for their years of service. Honorees included, Butch Frye of Marion County, Eloise Rosser of Jefferson County and Dean Wysner of Randolph County, beef division; David Pearce of Dallas County, catfish division; and Jerry Byrd of Dale County, wheat and feed grains division. Also honored for service to Alabama farmers during the conference were Dr. Arlie Powell of the Alabama Cooperative Extension System and Dr. Wayne Reeves of the USDA Soil Dynamics Laboratory in Auburn.

  Email to Friend More Headlines...  

e-News Sign Up | Site Map | Weather | Contact us RSS logo RSS Feed Twitter logo Follow us Facebook logo Become a Fan
© Copyright 2003 - 2010 Alabama Farmers Federation.
All Rights Reserved.