Home   |   Alfa Insurance   |   Alfa Health   |   Alfa Dental   |   Alfa Realty   |   County Federations    
ALFA Farmers
-> Headlines
-> Video News
-> Country Kitchen
-> Photo Galleries
-> Events


More Headlines...
May 12, 2003   Email to Friend 

Debra Davis
(334) 613-4686
May 12, 2003

Annie Dee of Dee River Ranch in Pickens County will serve a three-year term on the USDA Gain Inspection Advisory Committee.
WASHINGTON, D.C. -- An Alabama farmer has been named to the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Grain Inspection Advisory Committee to serve a three-year term. The committee meets twice annually to advise USDA on the establishment of programs and services under the U.S. Grain Standards Act that meet the needs of the agency's customers.

Annie Dee of Dee Farm Partnership/Dee River Ranch, Inc., in Pickens County was appointed to the committee by Agriculture Secretary Ann M. Veneman who also named four other new members and five alternate members to the committee.

Dee is a member of the Alabama Farmers Federation's State Wheat and Feed Grains Committee and serves on the board of directors of the Pickens County Farmers Federation. In 2002, Dee River Ranch was a finalist for the Alabama Farm-City Committee's Farm of Distinction award.

"I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to serve on the Grain Inspection Advisory Committee," said Veneman. "They bring a great deal of knowledge and experience to this board."

The other new members are: Thomas Bressner, general manager, Assumption Cooperative Grain Company, Assumption, Ill.; John D. Oades, director/West Coast Office, U.S. Wheat Associates, Portland, Ore.; Cassie Eigenmann Pierson, marketing project manager, Dickey-John Corporation, Auburn, Ill.; and John Setterdahl, grain marketing manager, Farmers Cooperative Company; Farnhamville, Iowa.

The new alternate members are: Curtis Engel, business director, The Scoular Company, Salina, Kan.; Charles Hurburgh, Jr., professor, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa; Joseph Kapraun, general manager, Stanford Grain Company, Stanford, Ill.; W. Arvid Lyons, manager, Lewis Clark Terminal, Inc., Lewiston, Idaho; and David Sevenich, quality assurance manager, Pioneer-Hi-Bred International, Inc., Johnston, Iowa.

The Grain Inspection Advisory Committee is comprised of 15 members and 15 alternate members. They are appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture and represent all facets of the grain industry.

  Email to Friend More Headlines...  

e-News Sign Up | Site Map | Weather | Contact us RSS logo RSS Feed Twitter logo Follow us Facebook logo Become a Fan
© Copyright 2003 - 2010 Alabama Farmers Federation.
All Rights Reserved.