Home   |   Alfa Insurance   |   Alfa Health   |   Alfa Dental   |   Alfa Realty   |   County Federations    
ALFA Farmers
-> Headlines
-> Video News
-> Country Kitchen
-> Photo Galleries
-> Events


More Headlines...
February 02, 2004   Email to Friend 

Division Winners Selected in OYFF Competition
Debra Davis
(334) 613-4686
February 02, 2004

Division winners in the Outstanding Young Farm Family competition were from left, BACK ROW, Beef Division-Michael Lovoy of Etowah County; Cotton Division-Stan Menefee of Limestone County; Forestry Division-Brian Lindley of Randolph County; Greenhouse, Nursery & Sod Division-Davy Wright of Dallas County; Hay & Forage Division- Thomas Ridgeway of DeKalb County; Horticulture Division-Jessie Hobbs of Limestone County; Peanut Division-Bill Caylor of Coffee County; Poultry Division-Steve Stroud of Pike County; Wheat & Feed Grains Division-Mike and Victoria Dee of Pickens County; Wildlife Division-Jimbo Robinson of Chambers County; FRONT ROW: Nancy and Lindsay Lovoy, Shaviny Menefee, Valerie Lindley, Heather Wright, Jennifer Ridgeway, Amanda and Sarah Bess Hobbs, Sharon Caylor, Valorie Stroud, Shannon and Isabella Dee, and Lynn, Beau and Addie May Robinson.

POINT CLEAR, Ala. -- Nearly 400 young farmers from throughout Alabama gathered at Point Clear last weekend for the Annual Alabama Farmers Federation's Young Farmers Leadership Conference.

Seminars and workshops on legislative issues, farm management, landowner liability, and estate planning were held during the two-day conference. Division winners were selected in the annual Outstanding Young Farm Family competition. The competition seeks to spotlight good stewardship and farm management by young farmers throughout the state. Division winners received a plaque and $200.

Division winners are as follows:

Beef -- Michael and Nancy Lovoy of Etowah County
* Cotton -- Stan Shaviny Menefee of Limestone County
* Forestry -- Brian and Valerie Lindley of Randolph County
* Greenhouse, Nursery & Sod -- Davy and Heather Wright of Dallas County
Hay & Forage -- Thomas and Jennifer Ridgeway of DeKalb County
* Horticulture -- Jessie and Amanda Hobbs of Limestone County
Peanut -- Bill and Sharon Caylor of Coffee County
* Poultry -- Steve and Valorie Stroud of Pike County
* Wheat & Feed Grains -- Mike and Shannon Dee of Pickens County
Wildlife -- Jimbo and Lynn Robinson of Chambers County

(* Denotes finalists who will compete for the Outstanding Young Farm Family of Alabama.)

The overall winner will be chosen at the Alabama Farmers Federation's annual meeting in December. The winner will receive a free home computer system and the use of a new Chevrolet TrailBlazer for a year.

For more information about this and other Young Farmers' programs, visit their page on the Alfa Farmers' website at www.alfafarmers.org.

  Email to Friend More Headlines...  

e-News Sign Up | Site Map | Weather | Contact us RSS logo RSS Feed Twitter logo Follow us Facebook logo Become a Fan
© Copyright 2003 - 2010 Alabama Farmers Federation.
All Rights Reserved.