Home   |   Alfa Insurance   |   Alfa Health   |   Alfa Dental   |   Alfa Realty   |   County Federations    
ALFA Farmers
-> Headlines
-> Video News
-> Country Kitchen
-> Photo Galleries
-> Events


More Headlines...
December 04, 2006   Email to Friend 

Jeff Helms
(334) 613-4212
December 04, 2006

Newly elected and re-elected Alabama Farmers Federation officers and board members gather for a photo following their election Dec. 4. From left are, front row, Women's Committee Chairman Dianne Nall of Monroe County, Young Farmers Director Steve Stroud of Pike County, North Area Vice President Hal Lee of Morgan County and Board Member Richard Edgar of Elmore County; back row, from left, Southeast Area Vice President Ricky Wiggins of Covington County, Board Member Dennis Maze of Blount County, Federation President Jerry A. Newby of Limestone County, Board Member Joe Dickerson of Lauderdale County, and Board Member Mike Dunn of Bullock County.
MOBILE, Ala., Dec. 4 -- Five hundred voting delegates of the Alabama Farmers Federation elected state board members and officers today during the organization's 85th annual meeting here.

Limestone County row crop and cattle farmer Jerry A. Newby was elected without opposition to his fifth two-year term as president of the state's largest farm organization.

Morgan County poultry farmer Hal Lee of Hartselle was elected to his fifth two-year term as Federation vice president of the north region, while Covington County peanut farmer Ricky Wiggins of Andalusia was elected to his fifth two-year term as vice president of the southeast region.

In the Federation's district board elections, Joe Dickerson of Lauderdale County was elected to represent Lauderdale, Colbert, Franklin, Marion, Lawrence and Walker counties.

Dennis Maze, a poultry farmer from Blount County, was elected as district director for Winston, Cullman, Marshall and Blount counties.

Richard Edgar, a row crop farmer from Elmore County, was elected to represent Coosa, Tallapoosa, Chambers, Elmore, Macon, Lee and Russell counties.

Mike Dunn, who raises cattle and timber on his farm in Bullock County, was re-elected to his second, three-year term as a district director and will represent Bullock, Barbour, Pike, Crenshaw, Coffee and Covington counties.

Vice presidents serve two-year terms while district directors serve three-year terms.

Elected to one-year, ex-officio terms on the state board were Women's Committee Chairman Dianne Nall of Monroe County and State Young Farmers Chairman Steve Stroud of Pike County.

Alabama Farmers Federation has 460,000 members statewide and is the Alabama affiliate of the American Farm Bureau Federation.

  Email to Friend More Headlines...  

e-News Sign Up | Site Map | Weather | Contact us RSS logo RSS Feed Twitter logo Follow us Facebook logo Become a Fan
© Copyright 2003 - 2010 Alabama Farmers Federation.
All Rights Reserved.