Home   |   Alfa Insurance   |   Alfa Health   |   Alfa Dental   |   Alfa Realty   |   County Federations    
ALFA Farmers
-> Headlines
-> Video News
-> Country Kitchen
-> Photo Galleries
-> Events


More Headlines...
December 21, 2006   Email to Friend 

Jeff Helms
(334) 613-4212
December 21, 2006

MONTGOMERY, Ala. -- Alabama farmers representing eight commodity areas as well as young farmers have been selected to serve on national American Farm Bureau Federation committees.

Producer leaders from Autauga, Barbour, Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Coffee, Dallas, Elmore, Geneva, Hale, Lee, Madison and Washington counties will serve one-year terms. During those terms, they will set priorities and make policy recommendations regarding their agricultural crops and enterprises.

Committee members and alternates from Alabama were selected to serve on eight national committees representing commodities in which the state is a national leader in terms of production. The committees range in size from 11 to 16 members. In addition, 2006 Alabama Farmers Federation Young Farmers Chairman Townsend Kyser of Hale County was selected to serve on the AFBF's Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee, which coordinates programs for the nation's up-and-coming farm leaders.

"We are proud that AFBF recognizes the leadership of Alabama's farmers and the importance of our state to the nation's supply of food, fiber and forestry products," said Alabama Farmers Federation President Jerry A. Newby, who also serves on the AFBF's Board of Directors. "Our farmers are some of the best and brightest in the nation, and we are confident they will make a positive contribution to the development of policies and programs to improve the profitability of their respective commodities. We are thankful they have this opportunity to work with other farmers from across the country on national issues.

"We also are exited about Townsend Kyser's appointment to the Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee. Our young farmers are vital to our country's future. Townsend has a servant attitude, and I know he will bring the same intelligence, work ethic and creative thinking to the national committee that he displayed as a leader of our state group," Newby added.

Selected to serve on national commodity committees from Alabama were, by commodity: Aquaculture, Butch Wilson of Dallas County and alternate Townsend Kyser of Hale County; Cotton, Walt Corcoran of Barbour County and alternate Mike Tate of Madison County; Forestry, Bill Thomas of Chambers County and alternate Dan James of Bibb County; Hay and Forages, David Rogers of Cherokee County and alternate Bill Collier of Lee County; Honey and Apiculture, Billy Mullins of Madison County and alternate Andy Webb of Washington County; Peanuts, Carl Sanders of Coffee County and alternate Charles Turner of Geneva County; Poultry, Dennis Maze of Blount County and alternate Cloyce Hammonds of Calhoun County; and Sheep and Goat, Edie Grover of Elmore County and alternate Sam Abney of Autauga County.

Nationally, Alabama ranks second in catfish production, third in poultry, third in peanuts, 10th in cotton, 11th in meat goats, 31st in hay, second in commercial forestland and is a national leader in the production of queen honey bees.

With more than 450,000 member families, Alabama Farmers Federation is the state's largest general farm organization and is the Alabama affiliate of the American Farm Bureau Federation.

  Email to Friend More Headlines...  

e-News Sign Up | Site Map | Weather | Contact us RSS logo RSS Feed Twitter logo Follow us Facebook logo Become a Fan
© Copyright 2003 - 2010 Alabama Farmers Federation.
All Rights Reserved.