Home   |   Alfa Insurance   |   Alfa Health   |   Alfa Dental   |   Alfa Realty   |   County Federations    
ALFA Farmers
-> Headlines
-> Video News
-> Country Kitchen
-> Photo Galleries
-> Events


More Headlines...
December 03, 2007   Email to Friend 

Darryal Ray
(334) 613-4187
December 03, 2007

Newly elected and re-elected board members and officers of the Alabama Farmers Federation are, from left, front row: Steve Tate of Madison County, District 2; Secretary-Treasurer Steve Dunn of Conecuh County; Women's Committee Chairman Delle Bean of Calhoun County and Young Farmers Chairman Will Gilmer of Lamar County, back row: John E. Walker III of Tuscaloosa County, District 5; Pat Buck of Sumter County, District 8; Southwest Vice President Jake Harper of Wilcox County; Central Vice President Dean Wysner of Randolph County; and David Bitto of Baldwin County, District 11.
MOBILE, Ala., Dec. 3 -- Almost 500 voting delegates of the Alabama Farmers Federation elected state board members and officers during the organization's 86th annual meeting at the Mobile Convention Center on Monday afternoon.

The four-day meeting, with "Today's Promise, Tomorrow's Strength" as its theme, paid tribute to its Young Farmers program, a program that got its start 50 years ago.

Federation President Jerry A. Newby, who was re-elected without opposition last year to his fifth two-year term as leader of Alabama's largest farm organization, presided over the afternoon voting delegate business session.

The election process saw Jake Harper, a Wilcox County cattle and timber farmer, and cattle producer Dean Wysner of Randolph County re-elected without opposition. Harper serves as vice president of the Federation's southwest Alabama region, while Wysner is vice president of the central region.

Row crop and cattle farmer Steve Dunn of Conecuh County was also re-elected as secretary-treasurer of the 450,000-member organization.

Elections were held for four district board positions, which have three-year terms.

Cotton, grain and pumpkin farmer Steve Tate, who serves as president of the Madison County Farmers Federation, was elected to represent District 2, which includes Limestone, Morgan and Madison counties. He succeeds board member Stanley Usery of Athens.

Also newly elected to the board was Pat Buck, a soybean and cattle farmer who serves as president of the Sumter County Farmers Federation. Buck will represent District 8, which includes Choctaw, Dallas, Greene, Hale, Marengo, Perry, Pickens and Sumter counties. He succeeds board member Leo Allen, president of the Choctaw County Farmers Federation.

Tuscaloosa row crop farmer John E. Walker III was re-elected to represent District 5, which includes Lamar, Fayette, Tuscaloosa, Bibb and Jefferson counties. Baldwin County Farmers Federation President and row crop farmer David Bitto was also re-elected to the board's District 11 seat, which includes Baldwin, Clarke, Conecuh, Escambia, Mobile, Monroe and Washington counties.

Elected to one year, ex-officio terms on the state board were Women's Committee Chairman Delle Bean of Calhoun County, and State Young Farmers Chairman Will Gilmer of Lamar County.

  Email to Friend More Headlines...  

e-News Sign Up | Site Map | Weather | Contact us RSS logo RSS Feed Twitter logo Follow us Facebook logo Become a Fan
© Copyright 2003 - 2010 Alabama Farmers Federation.
All Rights Reserved.