Home   |   Alfa Insurance   |   Alfa Health   |   Alfa Dental   |   Alfa Realty   |   County Federations    
ALFA Farmers
-> Headlines
-> Video News
-> Country Kitchen
-> Photo Galleries
-> Events


More Headlines...
December 06, 2007   Email to Friend 

Darryal Ray
(334) 613-4187
December 06, 2007

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Max Bozeman Jr., of Elba, a board member of the Coffee County Farmers Federation, was among 39 producers appointed to the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board on Thursday.

The appointments, announced by the USDA'S Acting Agriculture Secretary Chuck Conner, are for three-year terms beginning Feb. 3.

Bozeman is currently president of the Alabama Cattlemen's Association, past president of the Alabama Beef Cattle Improvement Association and is now serving his third consecutive term on the Alabama Farmers Federation's State Beef Committee. He is also past president of the Coffee County Farmers Federation.

Other appointments include: Weldon D. Wynn, Arkansas; Manuel Rodrigues, California; Harold A. Wick, Colorado; Sidney L. Sumner, Florida; Dan D. Hinman, Idaho; Paul L. Kent, Minnesota; Dianne Sites, Missouri; Lawrence J. Switzer, Montana; David C. Schubel, New York; Brian C. Healey and Steve Smola, Oklahoma; Sharon E. Livingston, Oregon; Daniel M. Kniffen, Pennsylvania; Charles L. Ezer, Austin E. Brown III and Mary Lou Bradley, Texas; and Warren D. Viergutz, Wisconsin.

Reappointed members representing cattle producers by state or region (unit) are: Virginia K. Coelho, California; David W. Bateman, Illinois; Virginia J. Davis, Indiana; Daniel F. Petersen, Iowa; Glenda J. Flora, Kansas; Dana R. Hauck, Kansas; Ross D. Garwood, Nebraska; Doris L. Rush, Nebraska; Jeffrey L. Dahl, North Dakota; Neil C. Kayser, Northwest; Franklin J. Phelps, Ohio; Merrill Karlen, Jr., South Dakota; Robert Q. Fountain, Jr., Southeast; Robert D. Fugate, Tennessee; Richard J. Hodge, Texas; and Bobby L. Combs, Virginia.

In addition, R. Wayne Buck, Colorado was appointed to complete the term of a producer who recently resigned from the board.

Donald E. Stewart was reappointed to represent importers.

The board oversees collection of $1-per-head on all cattle sold in the United States, and $1-per-head equivalent on imported cattle, beef and beef products. In addition, the board contracts with established national, non-profit, and industry-governed organizations to implement programs of promotion, research, consumer information, industry information, foreign marketing and producer communications.

The 104-member board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985. The agriculture secretary selects the appointees nominated by beef, veal, dairy and importer certified organizations. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors operation of the board.

  Email to Friend More Headlines...  

e-News Sign Up | Site Map | Weather | Contact us RSS logo RSS Feed Twitter logo Follow us Facebook logo Become a Fan
© Copyright 2003 - 2010 Alabama Farmers Federation.
All Rights Reserved.