Home   |   Alfa Insurance   |   Alfa Health   |   Alfa Dental   |   Alfa Realty   |   County Federations    
ALFA Farmers
-> Headlines
-> Video News
-> Country Kitchen
-> Photo Galleries
-> Events


More Headlines...
February 29, 2008   Email to Friend 

Darryal Ray
(334) 613-4187
February 29, 2008

Federation President Jerry A. Newby, center, accepts the Alabama 4-H Wall of Fame Award from Dr. Gaines Smith, director of the Alabama Cooperative Extension System (left) and Dr. Lamar Nichols, assistant director of 4-H Youth Development.
AUBURN, Ala. -- The Alabama Farmers Federation, recognized for its role in promoting the economic, social and educational interests of rural Alabamians, was inducted into the first-ever Alabama 4-H Wall of Fame on Thursday afternoon at the Jule Collins Smith Museum of Fine Art at Auburn University.

The Federation joined Alabama Power Company Foundation as the only corporate sponsors among the Wall of Fame class, which numbered 24 -- six of whom are already enshrined in the National 4-H Hall of Fame.

"Through its commitment to be an integral part of the communities it serves, the Alabama Farmers Federation and Alabama 4-H have forged strong ties for more than 50 years, working to strengthen farmers and their families," said Master of Ceremonies Ric Smith.

"Alfa Insurance and the Alabama Farmers Federation are proud to support 4-H'ers as they learn by doing. Our commitment to 4-H is our way to help 4-H fulfill its motto, and we are proud to play a part in that," said Federation President Jerry A. Newby, who accepted the award in the Federation's behalf from Dr. Gaines Smith, director of the Alabama Cooperative Extension System and Dr. Lamar Nichols, assistant director of 4-H Youth Development.

The first inductees include Alabama's National 4-H Hall of Famers Ann Barr, Thomas M. Campbell Sr., George Washington Carver, Bertha M. Jones, Cecil Mayfield and Lem Morrison -- as well as National 4-H Hall of Fame nominees W.D. "Demp" Jones and Tom Burnside.

The inaugural class honored 4-H volunteers, former 4-H'ers, retired Extension agents, county coordinators, state specialists and friends of 4-H. All will be enshrined in Auburn University's Duncan Hall.

The Wall of Fame ceremony was the first in a series of events designed to celebrate Alabama's 4-H Centennial and recognize 4-H accomplishments from people over the past 100 years. The celebration will continue through December 2009.

"The 4-H Wall of Fame is a special honor for individuals and organizations that have made a significant contribution to the development of 4-H programs or 4-H'ers in Alabama," said Betty Gottler, coordinator of the 4-H Centennial celebration.

Other inductees included:

-- Baldwin County 4-H volunteers Helen Bauer and Thelma and John Gottler

-- Calhoun County 4-H volunteer Alice Heard

-- Houston County volunteer Malta F. (Scooter) Conners

-- John D. McCrorie, a Jefferson County 4-H volunteer

-- Lee County 4-H volunteer Deborah Stabler

-- Morgan County 4-H volunteer Vicki Linley

-- Fayette County 4-H alumnus Ryan Sprinkle

-- Retired Extension Director Ann Thompson

-- Retired state Extension staffers Rosalie and Earl Kennamer

-- Retired Shelby County Extension Agent John E. Jones

-- Retired Pike County Extension coordinator James A. McLean

-- Retired Extension Animal Scientist Bob Whittenburg

-- Jack Odle, chair of Alabama 4-H Foundation, Inc., and editor of Progressive Farmer magazine

To learn more about Alabama 4-H, visit www.aces.edu/fourh.

  Email to Friend More Headlines...  

e-News Sign Up | Site Map | Weather | Contact us RSS logo RSS Feed Twitter logo Follow us Facebook logo Become a Fan
© Copyright 2003 - 2010 Alabama Farmers Federation.
All Rights Reserved.