Home   |   Alfa Insurance   |   Alfa Health   |   Alfa Dental   |   Alfa Realty   |   County Federations    
ALFA Farmers
-> Headlines
-> Video News
-> Country Kitchen
-> Photo Galleries
-> Events


More Headlines...
December 08, 2008   Email to Friend 

Darryal Ray
(334) 613-4187
December 08, 2008

Newly elected and re-elected Alabama Farmers Federation board members and directors are, from left, seated, Sammy Williams of Henry County, District 12; Marshall Prickett of Calhoun County, District 6; Jessie Hobbs of Limestone County, Young Farmers chairman; and Joy Noble of Macon County, Women's Committee chairman; standing, Hal Lee of Morgan County, North Area vice president; Donnie Garrett of Cherokee County, District 3; Jerry A. Newby of Limestone County, president; Garry Henry of Montgomery County, District 9; and Ricky Wiggins of Covington County, Southeast Area vice president.
MOBILE, Ala., Dec. 8 -- Jerry A. Newby, a Limestone County row crop and cattle farmer, was easily elected Monday to his sixth two-year term as president of the Alabama Farmers Federation during the organization's 87th annual meeting at the Mobile Convention Center.

Newby of Athens, who was first elected in 1998, was opposed by Jimmy Parnell of Stanton, a Chilton County timber producer who had served on the Federation's state board the past nine years. Parnell is also president of the Chilton County Farmers Federation.

The election of officers and state board members came on the last full day of the three-day gathering of the state's largest farm organization. With "Farmers: Hands That Feed The World" as its theme, the event paid tribute to the global role Alabama farmers play in producing food, clothing and shelter.

Hal Lee, vice president of the Northern Area, was re-elected without opposition. Also re-elected was Ricky Wiggins of Andalusia, vice president of the Southeastern Area.

The election process also saw Montgomery County cattle farmer Garry Henry succeed Parnell on the board as director of District 9, representing Chilton, Autauga, Lowndes, Wilcox, Butler and Montgomery counties.

Elections were also held for three other district positions, which have three-year terms.

Donnie Garrett of Centre, a hay and forage producer, who is also president of the Cherokee County Farmers Federation, was elected director of District 3, which includes Jackson, DeKalb, Cherokee and Etowah counties. He succeeds Earl Saxon of Attalla.

Wellington poultry farmer Marshall Prickett, former president of the Calhoun County Farmers Federation, was elected to represent District 6, which includes St. Clair, Calhoun, Shelby, Talladega, Cleburne, Clay and Randolph counties. He succeeds Doyle Phillips of Delta.

Sammy Williams of Columbia in Dale County was elected to represent District 12, which includes Dale, Henry, Geneva and Houston counties. He succeeds Jerry Byrd, a Dale County peanut farmer.

Elected to one year, ex-officio terms on the state board were Women's Committee Chairman Joy Noble of Macon County, and State Young Farmers Chairman Jessie Hobbs of Limestone County.

  Email to Friend More Headlines...  

e-News Sign Up | Site Map | Weather | Contact us RSS logo RSS Feed Twitter logo Follow us Facebook logo Become a Fan
© Copyright 2003 - 2010 Alabama Farmers Federation.
All Rights Reserved.