Home   |   Alfa Insurance   |   Alfa Health   |   Alfa Dental   |   Alfa Realty   |   County Federations    
ALFA Farmers
-> Cultivator
-> Capitol Connection
-> Neighbors
-> Friends & Family
-> Ag Law Book
-> Coloring Book

Current Issue
Archived Issues
January 01, 2012   Email to Friend 

2011 Winners Named In Young Farmers Competitions
Melissa Martin and Miranda Mattheis

Jeremy and Lindsey Brown of Montgomery County were named Alabama’s Outstanding Young Farm Family (OYFF) during the Alabama Farmers Federation’s 90th annual meeting in Mobile, Dec. 6.

The Browns were selected to compete for the award earlier this year after being named the Outstanding Young Farm Family in the poultry division. They have two daughters: Ansley, 3, and Lydia Grace, 3 months.

As this year’s winner, the Browns received a John Deere Gator courtesy of Alabama Ag Credit and Alabama Farm Credit; a personal computer package courtesy of Valcom/CCS Wireless; a lease of a John Deere tractor courtesy of Tri-Green, SunSouth and Snead Ag; the use of a new Chevrolet Traverse from the Alabama Farmers Federation; and an expense-paid trip to the 2012 American Farm Bureau (AFBF) Annual Meeting in January, where they will compete for the AFBF Young Farmer and Rancher Achievement Award.

The OYFF program, now in its 54th year, seeks to recognize young farm families and farmers between the ages of 18 and 35 who are doing an outstanding job in their farm, home and community activities and promote a better understanding of agriculture with the urban populace.

Other winners chosen in Young Farmers’ competitions to represent Alabama at the AFBF annual meeting included Excellence in Agriculture Award winner Jena Perry of Choctaw County, who received $250 from the Alabama Farmers Federation and $500 from First South Farm Credit.

Stan Usery of Limestone County won the Young Farmers’ Discussion Meet. He received $500 from the Alabama Farmers Federation and $500 from First South Farm Credit.

Kirk Smith of Blount County was the second-place winner of the Discussion Meet and received $250, while third and fourth-place finishers Tyler Dunn of Dale County and Colin Wilson of Jackson County each received $150. Prizes for these winners were courtesy of the Alabama Farmers Federation and First South Farm Credit.

  Email to Friend Archived Issues  

e-News Sign Up | Site Map | Weather | Contact us RSS logo RSS Feed Twitter logo Follow us Facebook logo Become a Fan
© Copyright 2003 - 2010 Alabama Farmers Federation.
All Rights Reserved.